Sunrise Tarn Hills France

My mini trip to the Millau Viaduct and the Tarn Gorge is completed. I have now arrived at home in the South of France. The morning began by clambering out of bed at 4.45 to catch the sunrise, if there was one. I looked out of the window and saw a mixed sky but it was clear on the horizon.

I had to choose whether to shoot the sunrise with the viaduct to the East of me or to the West. My favourite view was with the viaduct to the West and with the light falling on to it.

To my surprise, the viaduct didn't look as majestic as I had hoped. The hills in the distance looked beautiful, as did the sunrise to the East. If only I had chosen to shoot the scene with the viaduct to the East!!

By 7.30, the light had gone and the sun was behind cloud. I packed up, jumped in the car and started the five hour drive to here. It is a Public Holiday in France today, I think all of France was on the move, the roads were solid with traffic.

After much deliberation, you didn't get the viaduct at sunrise, the hills to the East won!!

I am going to sit outside now and lap up the sunshine. Tonight I will begin to clear my backlog of lovely comments. Thank you.

This sunrise is well worth viewing LARGE.

P.S. For those of you who are interested, you may notice this was not shot with a wide angle lens to make the sky "bigger". I was shooting the viaduct, turned round and saw this sunrise developing. No time to change the lens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.