If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Copper Beech autumn colour (Fagus sylvatica )

Unusually we had guests leaving the Lodge today and new guests arriving.  So off we went to do the cleaning.  On arrival, I realised I had picked up my camera bag but the camera wasn't in it!  Fortunately, I had taken my phone, often I forget that as well. 

At one point as I went outside the next doors Copper Beech was glowing with autumn colour.  Out with the phone and get a shot.  Later I got a quick snap of another nearby tree which was, in my opinion, showing a remarkable effect.

Beech trees hold their leaves in winter if they have a crown of less then 3m (9ft).  This is why you see beech hedges still with brown leaves right through until spring.  If you look at the shot in extra you will see that this tree seems to be dropping its leaves at two different speeds.  The Lower branches are holding their leaves longer than the upper branches, perhaps a sort of hang over from when it was a young tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.