RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Kitchen-to-be

Demolishing the back part of the house (kitchen and bathroom downstairs and box room upstairs) was the first work the builders did back in July. I'm not at all good at imagining 3D from plans but enough of the blockwork for the replacement is now built for me to be able to stand in the space and half-see how it might look when it's finished. 

There will be six kitchen units against this wall. It's where my outside table with the lovely overhanging rose used to be. To the left is the kitchen window out into the garden - well, actually onto a small secluded patio where I will replant the rose from cuttings I took before the building started so that I can still sit under it to drink my morning coffee. 

This indoor space feels much smaller that I expected from the drawings. Will I really be able to fit a usable kitchen in here? Next to the wall behind where I'm standing is where I imagined the dining table (and where the architect has drawn it) but I can now see that if I put it there it would partly block the way in to this new space. I must rethink. 

I spent a long time standing here, getting used to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.