TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The leaving of Zürich: now the tough bit starts

Slept rather well in Zürich, I am glad to say. Had a quick shower, and then Thom and Janine dropped me off at Altstetten train station, providing me with a day pass to use on the city transit services (which cost considerably more than the 69c Spanish version, I have to say), and we bade each other farewell. At least until the summer.

Zürich strikes me as a rather nice city. I had a quick wander around the banks of the Limmat, making my way up to the Lindenhof. Then I realized I had better get to the airport...

My God, do the Swiss like their airport shopping. A million high end stores, some very nice, all out of my price range. Bought the obligatory chocolate, and then sat near the gate waiting for boarding.

Flight delayed (Air Canada flights are always delayed for some reason) and had the misfortune to have the world's most miserable crew. One of them had a RBF that would make Liz Truss seem happy. Not sure why people choose careers that make them miserable... says the man who spent 10 years too long in the federal government.

Into Toronto late, but not a problem because the flight to Ottawa was also delayed by an hour. I like the way Air Canada manages to continually ensure passenger happiness.

Into Ottawa, where I was greeted by a welcoming family. Astoundingly, the suitcase I said goodbey to in Malaga 36 hours previously had arrived unscathed. Ottawacker Jr. welcomed me home personally by helping eat my steak. It's good to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.