... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Time For The Tulips

We have these pretty pointed tulips in a pot in our back garden, just outside the back door: I keep going outside, seeing them, and thinking that they'd make a nice blip... Perhaps I need to get it out of my system.

There's that, and my other photos didn't come out... I went into town and took a number of photographs with my phone today only to get them onto the computer and see that they were all fine evidence of the fact that the phone doesn't like resolving any detail on objects that are further away than "fairly close". For example, I tried to take pictures of Victoria Embankment Gardens which was awash with colourful tulips, and I focussed on a tree across the grass (about 40m from where I was standing): the tree has a trunk, then finer branches, then a mess of noisy twigs/leaves where the phone seems to get confused by the increased fineness of the features. I'll stick to playing to its strengths: it is not bad when the subject is close and the background is soft.

New camera ETA: it looks as though I'll receive my new gear at some point in the middle of next week. Some of the items are ready, but some are "on order" (such as the lenses' protective filters...). I'm off to Madrid this weekend, which ought to help distract me during the wait. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.