*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Fighting back

The red paint is starting to show again. Wonder if there's anything left inside - like a stamp time capsule? :-)

I received an email this afternoon from the Passchendaele Memorial Museum near Ypres to tell me about a photo exhibition about the soldiers who died on the site of the museum, and to ask if they could use my scanned photograph of my Great Uncle Walter, as he was one of them. I don't know why but it made me properly cry. I get very emotional about Walter, he's been mentioned many times in my journal over the years. He also told me that next year they are doing a further exhibition on these soldiers, and are looking for personalia. I do have letters and a few things of Walter's but not sure I could face sending them away to the place where he died. Or perhaps they should be seen and for the world to be reminded of a lost generation. We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.