Restoring the Land

I've taken so many pictures of earth movers over the past 2+ years, so although that was my original goal, I chose this picture that minimizes the earth movers and spotlights the trees sporting the last of their color. Without going into a rant, I point out the wires, some of them high tension, some cables and non-electric. PG&E hasn't been seen in ages, even though they are supposedly upgrading all the lines, and poles and cutting trees. There's a big dead tree at the base of the wooden pole at the bottom of our property. It has a yellow band around it so we're hoping that means PG&E will be cutting it down.

The extra is a picture of the field outside our fire garden. The big dirt piles and a big pile of eucalyptus chips have been redistributed, and piles of roots and rocks have been pushed up to the part of their field that is adjacent to our bedroom and fire garden. We're hoping they will do something about them too, but Janet has told me that they have no plans to remove the cement foundation that once had a shed on it. 

I had to laugh when I came home from Pilates, and all the drivers and movers were sitting around a truck in canvas 'soccer mom' chairs eating their lunch. I don't know why I thought it was funny. Workers sitting around construction sites having lunch is a common sight , and for some reason they usually reject the picnic tables which the property owners have put out and sit around on the rocks. The chairs seemed to add a little touch of luxury....

We're starting to think about Thanksgiving...we have a good complement of Midwesterners who have definite ideas about the menu, and the rest who don't even like turkey! We've capitulated on the turkey, especially since Jim has offered to cook, it and told everybody else to bring whatever they feel is essential for a Thanksgiving meal. That formula has always worked and ensures that there will be far too much food which is they way it's supposed to be on Thanksgiving.

I'm trying to make a table runner but probably will run out of time before I get it finished. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.