The Eye of the Needle

We were awakened by earth movers on the other side of the house today. The good news is that they are moving the huge mound of dirt that has been there since they had to dig into the hillside for a level foundation for a new pump house and water tank, and that the recent small amount of rain was enough to dampen the dirt and keep the dust down a bit. The bad news is that the beeping and grinding and clanking has gone on for two days, and they start at 7am. There are three of them working at once so it is rattling the shelves, but shouldn't take too long.

After Pilates on the floor, I took the quilt of a thousand squares to Joanie, the quilter. She showed me some some of her quilts and gave me some good pointers on where to look for inspiration for the next one. I think I'm ready for a change of direction but needing some ideas on how to accomplish it.

Went to a new (to me) coffee place called Big River where I met Maggie, the teacher of Pilates on the floor. It's in an industrial park on the other side of town--but on the way home from points north, and a couple of the teachers at the Pilates studio were raving about it. The coffee was good and there were a couple of tables outside in the sun. The sun felt good at first, but the longer we sat there the hotter the it became.They must have taken down their umbrellas for the winter.

My picture today was inspired by my frustration at trying to hem Peter's jeans. It doesn't have anything to do with water, but that is in short supply around here....I had just the right color thread but it was too heavy gauge for my machine, so I decided to try sewing it by hand. It was deceptively difficult to get the heavier thread through the eye of the needle. I have needles of all sizes, but the eyes seem to be about the same on all of them. 

We had a visit from David, our erstwhile contractor and friend who we haven't seen in months. I was beginning to think he wasn't a friend anymore, but he has just been busy remodeling houses and trying to get permits for one he is going to build on the Russian River. It's always good to see him.

The beeping has ended for the day which calls for a glass of wine....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.