Cataracts and Photobooks

Sue had to have her eyes dilated and examined this morning, trying to learn whether or not it’s time to have her cataracts removed. The doc told her they measure them from one to four, and she’s a two. She said, “So should I let them go a few more years, till I’m a four?”

The doc, not earning high marks for affability, answered, “You would if you were in Africa and didn’t have access to medical care. But people here usually have them removed at two.”

Sue wants another opinion before she makes up her mind, but this eye doc is a block from my apartment. I cancelled my usual Thursday coffee with Margie so Sue could come to my house and wait in a darkened room for her eyes to recover. I’ll see Margie tomorrow. 

For those of you who want to know, Blurb is having a 50% off sale on photobooks today only, and they’re still hinting about a Black Friday sale coming up (probably 40% off). I finished (and ordered) the two more books I was working on, so that’s it for me this year. I’m turning comments back on because I’ve missed our conversations, though I see the advantages of turning them off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.