Experimentation

There's a new exhibition based on the designer Bernat Klein in the museum, celebrating a century since his birth. I'm itching to go but first there's something I must do.

Way, way back I knitted a poncho with his beautiful yarn, characterised by soft fluffy sections at intervals. I had used the stitch given for a jumper pattern but, resulting in a diagonal list, the poncho never hung straight. Eventually I pulled it down but kept the yarn 'for future use'.

The time has come to use it, but what to make? A stole might be a suitable subject but, wary of the past mistake, I've been experimenting with different stitches to find which would give the best result but still be interesting, bearing in mind the slub disguises intricate pattern.

So far this, butterfly stitch, seems the best compromise, requiring few difficult manoeuvres but requires 12 rows of 10 stitches for each. I now have to calculate the dimensions that can be achieved with the yarn to hand.

Then I hope to get busy so that I can wear the finished article when attending the exhibition. Just as well it runs until 23rd April 2023.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.