The Most Glorious

Mike kindly stopped on the first bridge on the way to shop at Continente in Reguengos, so I could take a photo. Compare with this Blip of the same view in February last year. We have kayaked up to that old mill several times and seen turtles plopping into the water from those rocks. I know we keep going on about how much the Lake is going down, but what if it keeps on like this? We had a tiny amount of rain yesterday, back to bright sunshine today.

I keep thinking of that bit in "Calendar Girls" (one of my favourite films):
The flowers of Yorkshire are like the women of Yorkshire.
Every stage of their growth is more beautiful than the last, but the last phase is always the most glorious.
Then, very quickly, they all go to seed.

Very much hope we can stop our world from going to seed, but if not, I will do my best to revel in its last glorious stage.

Gratefuls:
- our batteries being fully charged again, and being able to do a wash
- enough money to stock up on groceries again, and a car to haul it home in
- a stunning sunset that we watched from the carpark in Reguengos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.