JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

November railings

Thursday was a much better day. It was dry, with occasional flashes of sunshine, and I decided I needed to gather my energy and get my swollen leg and foot moving again. I walked rather slowly round the village, looking for colours for Abstract Thursday (thank you Ingeborg for hosting) and finding lots of tree colour everywhere I looked. The ICM photo was taken through the green railings of the village school, with golden brown, yellow and green leaves at the other side - I've played with the colour a bit, but the extra gives an idea what I was looking at, though it wasn't taken in exactly the same place. After a few days of barrel-scraping quick snaps, I enjoyed trying to do some "proper" photos. 

After lunch I checked the vegetable garden, and found the slugs in fine health and very well fed. I picked a lot of slightly damaged calabrese, which I'll need to trim and freeze, a large and rather inhabited cauliflower and a tub of cherry tomatoes, while P brought in the last few squashes. 

Later, I joined the gardening society on Zoom for a presentation on the development of the RHS Bridgewater garden. This was excellent, very interesting and thought-provoking; definitely somewhere I want to visit, though it won't happen any time soon. It's the first gardening society meeting I've joined, despite having been a member for a couple of years; I was really pleased they did something on Zoom, which makes it much more manageable for me. After that, J and I watched a movie: Harriet, the story of Harriet Tubman, an escaped slave who became a "conductor" on the underground railroad, making many dangerous trips south to help other slaves to escape. I thought it was well made, and found it interesting after reading The Last Runaway and Uncle Tom's Cabin in the summer; J said it was interesting but shocking, perhaps because although she has a basic awareness of slavery, she has probably not seen its brutality so clearly represented before. It's on BBC iPlayer till Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.