November yarrow

It was a bright morning, so I dragged J out for a short walk before lunch. The combination of me being unwell and lots of rainy days meant she hadn't been out of the house for six days, so I thought she was desperately in need of fresh air (though she doesn't always share my views on this topic). I lured her out with the promise that I would take only the photos she directed (though the yarrow was a last-minute exception), and she chose some trees with shapes she liked and some views of the landscape with sheep, seagulls and fluffy clouds, all of which she thought would be good "sketchbook" reference material for creative projects such as needle-felt, collage or digital art. She can't hold the camera herself (though we could sort out a wheelchair mount if we tried) but has quite a good sense of composition if I show her the screen and ask for instructions, and I'm always interested to see what she notices and chooses.

This stretch of roadside verge, walking out of the village, is a good spot for wild flower photos, but I didn't expect to find yarrow and marjoram still in bloom so late in November - another sign of our messed-up climate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.