Welcome to the world

I got a message from Nadia whilst leaving work, asking for a lift home from the hospital with baby. She was desperate to get home to her other two children and, after such a straightforward birth, she was surprised that she had been kept in so long. She had been told she would probably be able to leave around midday but at 4pm she was still waiting to be discharged.
I dropped the kids off with Andrew at work and queued through rush hour traffic to get to the hospital only to realise Andrew didn’t have a house key! Back through the traffic to meet each other and hand over the key (I was not impressed!)
Back to the hospital and to find Nadia. Her English is limited and Google translate has been a godsend. I hassled and hassled and we finally left the hospital around 7pm.

As we left, Nadia wiped away a little tear from her face and explained “I want to go home… my heart tells me to go home but my head knows we can’t, it’s not safe.”
Once we got back to the house she’s staying at, Nadia was greeted with a very excited little girl, thrilled to meet her baby brother and an hysterical two year old boy. He was clearly so relieved to have mummy home and clung to her neck crying mama mama mama! He didn’t even notice the new baby, it was an extremely emotional moment.
I left the new little family to it and promised to check in soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.