Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

To teleconvert or not to teleconvert

Today I had a lovely time in the reserve.  I saw a few different birds - which was rather a relief as they've been mainly absent for a while and the horrid thought has occurred that together with the sparrowhawks in the spring, the buzzard this autumn might have proved too much for them.  But this morning, as well as the robins and blackbirds there were tits, chaffinches and a flock of goldcrests.

Yes, I did get pictures of the goldcrests and enjoyed watching them, but I didn't have the teleconverter on because I've found with tiny, fast-moving birds the tc muddles the autofocus and you land up missing the shot altogether.  So of course the birds were too small a fraction of the image to make it worth while.  I shall have to try harder next time.

However, with bigger, slower birds like this mallard the tc is wonderful.  Frustrating!

Hope your Friday's been a good one.  Have a great weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.