Living my dream

By Mima

Access issues

The flower growth in the borders along the paths is so lush that they are steadily taking over, making our walk down to the guest cabin and beyond a single-file affair. Additionally, when it’s rained we both get wet legs and Bean also gets water in her ears as she squeezes between the poppies and the lavender.

I can’t bring myself to pull anything up while the flowers are in bloom, but the moment they are over the plants will go onto the compost heap.

The rain stopped mid-morning. We had 28mm in 36 hours which was a really good soak for the garden. The sun then came out and heated us to 24 C - and we were steaming. Literally.

I got a load of washing hung out, then after a couple of hours I spotted an enormous build-up of dark thundery clouds in the west. They were slowly but surely heading our way. happily the washing was dry.

I thought Bean and I would be safe having a 40 minute walk before the weather arrived, and then got chatting with friends half way round. What an idiot I am. If we’d not stopped we would have got home just in time. As it was….

… drookit again!

I experimented with half and half wheat and spelt flours to make a sourdough this morning. It made a super-stretchy wet dough which rose spectacularly. I’ll be interested to see how it bakes tomorrow…and even more interested to see how it tastes at lunchtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.