Living my dream

By Mima

RIP Bill

My 'little' brother died on Sunday morning UK time. He was the youngest of my three older brothers. 

He was funny, complicated, loving, and - at 68 - too young to die.

However, as you know he had been suffering from vascular dementia for the last few years, and from increasing physical health problems for most of this year. He had been living a 'half-life' at best and for the past week was unconscious. 

His death is no surprise - indeed it is a relief - but it is nevertheless a shock. 

I am spending a very quiet day as I start to adjust to the slight shift of my world's axis. Every death of a loved one changes things. 

I have spoken to my other two brothers and to my two closest friends this morning. That's all I can handle for the time being. I'm a typical introvert needing time to myself now...

This is my favourite photo from our childhood: Bill and I sitting amongst fishermen's paraphernalia at Scrabster Harbour as we waited to sail to Orkney on the St. Ola for the summer holidays. Sorry about the poor image quality.

RIP my brother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.