November

Winter sharpened it claws today and it was very pleasant to spend way too long in the warmth of Söderberg with a Merry Widow, drinking coffee, sharing a blueberry bun and lots of gossip.

The sunshine and showers tussled over their timing and I chose the wrong time to have a walk along the canal and home by Bruntsfield and the Links during which time it rained- not the rain of Friday but gently persistent nevertheless. The sun came out as I circled the Meadows at the end.

The cherry trees are finally shedding their leaves, with the borders of the paths lined by colourful ribbons of bright yellow and russet.

By the time I arrived home and put the washing, which has been drying indoors for 3 days, away, it was beginning to get dark and so another November day is done and dusted. I can now look forward to even shorter colder days, football on every channel for the next three weeks, and then Christmas to follow. Kill me now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.