Elan Valley and Cambrian mountains

A lovely sunny morning but chilly at 4 degrees Celsius.
I decided to explore the reservoirs along the Elan and Claerwen valleys before tackling the mountain road to Cwm Ystwyth and Devils bridge. From there over to Ponterwyd, Llangurig and back to Rhayader.
The first 50k was fine and dry, during the rest of the ride I encountered most of the weather possible including hail and thunder. Three degrees Celsius and soaked through to the skin as I arrived back to my accommodation.
Red kites are more than abundant here, in fact I saw more kites than buzzards and that’s a big turnaround since I was last here. Dipper, raven, great spotted woodpecker, tree creeper, sparrow hawk and woodcock were the birds of any note that I spotted. It 18:15 and I have just about thawed out:))
Rain is forecast for tomorrow, maybe a run might be more logical.
More views in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.