The Purcell Club

My local Arts Society had a treat this evening- a beautifully organised private tour of Westminster Abbey. As we moved around the magnificent space we enjoyed the Purcell Club choir which comprises past choristers from the Abbey school. It's years since I have been and it was wonderful to be able to walk round with nobody else there. 

What a privilege and well done to Mary for getting us on the list. You have to wait over three years to get to the top of the priority order. 

And a bonus was dinner beforehand in the Abbey restaurant. 

Photography wasn't allowed in the church, although there were plenty of phone shots being taken. I managed to sneak in a few crafty ones with my camera.

On the way I encountered a demo protesting against the regime in Iran. An impressive cause. Shame on you BBC ! they chanted. Dont know what the Beeb has done wrong on this topic but I must have missed something. And I had difficulty working out the logic of one of the chants which went "Stop the killing, Death to the Mullahs". Something contradictory in there methinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.