Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Have a seat

(20/11/22)
G has the second of her early starts on a Thursday, so she took herself to school. She came home slightly earlier and suggested we visit the Land Department to see what can be done about our rent.

We found the place easy enough. It is so different in the day time. The (huge) car park was full. (I've only ever seen it empty in the night).

We found the right person to talk to - an Emirati woman - who listened intently to our problem. As we had followed all the steps if a landlord or his agent is blatantly breaking the law and won't negotiate, she was confident that we had an easy case that was a no-brainer. The next step was to take our papers to an adjacent building to start the process.

I was surprised when the man at reception asked me for my cheques to renew my contract! They had to explain what they are doing as I had not heard of or read of this anywhere.

So now, the Rent Dispute Committed is going to renew my rental contract with my landlord. They have an "urgent court" where the judge gives a ruling without two days. Because the landlord's agent was trying to increase my rent more than the permitted amount and then refused to negotiate, they have taken the decision away from him. Now, by law, he cannot put me out of my flat in 2023. What's more he has to renew by contract at the year's rent and terms. That is an incredible outcome - totally unexpected!

Needless to say, we are thrilled. Of all the documents I had on me, I didn't have my cheque book, so have to go back tomorrow morning.

These chairs were all lined up at the approach to the building parking area. I thought it looked funny!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.