Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Thankful for This Friend

Back on March 30th I was so excited that Beautifulblue and that Dr. Craig were celebrating big days that I mentioned them in my journal and then I went on to write, "Congratulations to all those celebrating today--I hope that is lots of us because everyday has something worth celebrating."

I like to celebrate.

So today I'm feeling exceptionally thankful for Bob dog. Being thankful and celebrating are rather synonymous for me. Mostly I am thrilled that I captured a photo of Bob, and for me that's worth celebrating.

Bob is old . . . somewhere between 14 and 15. In dog years, that's up there. He's getting skin warts (see the edge of his nose and his lip). He's almost completely deaf, and his left eye appears to be foggy. So his photo can't compete with the young pups. But for me, Bob is a "real" friend. Possibly the best description of that comes from Skin Horse in The Velveteen Rabbit:

"Real isn't how you are made," said the Skin Horse. "It's a thing that happens to you. When a child loves you for a long, long time, not just to play with, but REALLY loves you, then you become Real."

"Does it hurt?" asked the Rabbit.

"Sometimes," said the Skin Horse, for he was always truthful. "When you are Real you don't mind being hurt."

"Does it happen all at once . . . ?" he asked.

"It doesn't happen all at once," said the Skin Horse. "You become. It takes a long time. That's why it doesn't often happen to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don't matter at all, because once you are Real you can't be ugly, except to people who don't understand."


Bob dog is no longer handsome or young, but he's so REAL. He's added a wealth to our lives that no amount of money could add.

Often I have mentioned Bob dog in my journal. More than often when a fellow blipper posts a photo of his or her dog, I will comment what Bob dog would say and add a link to a blip of him.

However seldom have I blipped Bob dog. That's not because I have not wanted to, but it is because Bob dog rarely sits still when he sees the camera. He is a camera hating dog. That is probably the meanest thing I can say about him because mostly he is the nicest, most docile animal you'll ever meet (I know most of you will never meet him).

So I decided today was the day. I was going to get a shot of him (if possible). Mr. Fun looked at this one and said, "But the bed's not made." In my politest voice I responded, "Do you really think I care?" So blip friends, I apologize that the bed is not made, but it is Saturday, so we'll let that be an appropriate excuse.

If you want the story of Bob dog you can look to

January 7th
Which was my third day of blipping. There you will see the table were I am sitting at now in the upstairs master bedroom, and a explanation of what Bob is doing.

January 15th
Is the story of Bob dog joining our family.

January 27
is Bob dog on vacation, doing what he does best . . . .

January 31st
Is Bob dog fully aware that we are arriving home after 10 days of being gone.

February 25
Is one of my favorite blips of my favorite dogs (oops, the bed is not made in that one either and it was a Wednesday, but that's sort of like a Saturday, isn't it?)

April 30th
This is also a favorite of Bob dog. So you decide which is the "best of Bob."

So, as the evening now slips quickly toward night and the air takes on a mild chilliness, I'll say good night to all and thank you for reading this far and now you can "carry on."

Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Bob dog), aka Carol

P.S. Today I learned again for the first time, that if I don't get in the cockpit then I cannot strap on the seatbelt nor put the pedal to the metal, and wearing the helmet is just a waste of time. Unless I want to look like I am going somewhere, when I really am not. All of that to say that what I wrote at the end of yesterday's blip did not get accomplished--because I messed off all day (and thoroughly enjoyed myself). ;-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.