Magnificent

Bro and I were both staying at our mum's in London last night and went back to our uncle's for a couple of hours today to look at a doorlock and other security issues, to check that the cistern he repaired yesterday was not leaking (it wasn't) and to finish opening post and filing/binning papers.

Thence Cricklade where bro's group/'choir' - the Magnificent AKs - had a gig. I'd never heard them live before and I loved their wide-ranging repertoire - some fun, some moving, always engaging. Their close unaccompanied harmony is hard to pigeon-hole but related to the Spooky Men's Chorale who bro and I went to see in July. There's a recording here but they are much better live.

It was great to see a bunch of (self-styled) Blokes prepared to be open and to have each others' backs. There's not enough of that.

In the pub afterwards they entertained everyone by breaking into song from time to time. Given that my same-pitch-as-my-brother's tenor voice (and possibly the ownership of a shed) makes me a tiny bit bloke, they allowed me to join in. They even helped me learn the parts. What an absolutely great, welcoming bunch of people - the evening completely made up for the last difficult week and I left the pub exhilarated.


Apologies for lack of comments. I will be back when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.