Church!

For many of my Blipfoto contacts church seems to be a normal weekly event, but I am not a regular churchgoer. When I lived in England I had periods when I often attended church, but I never found a Swedish church that I felt at home in. However, when I do go it's often to this church, which was originally part of the Swedish State church, but was then sold to the free church who have much more lively and topical services.  Jan wrote a fair bit about the service and the church in her blip so I won't repeat it all here.
Jan mentions the pastor, who is also a local politician and seems to dislike us because we aren't in his party, the Social Democrats. (In British terms he's a Blairite and we are Corbynists.) However, to be fair to him he spends a lot of time helping asylum seekers to get permission to stay, and helping "new Swedes" settle in. So even if he doesn't like us he gets a lot of respect for that work. The congregation reflects the church's open attitude and is full of younger people from many parts of the world - most recently from Ukraine.
After church I returned to working on the porch roof at home and a few hours later it was done. I'd been using a head torch for the last two hours or so of fixing it so it was a bit dark to photograph it. Maybe it'll be a blip another day. As I was working on it the snow was falling so it is definitely needed! Quite a lot of the work was done standing on a ladder and I notice my legs are really stiff! I think I'll sleep well tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.