Preparations...

...for winter always take longer than you think they will.
Where we park the camper van in summer is exactly where our neighbour's snow plow clears our path so we have to reorganise for winter.  This involved climbing around in a big fir tree, 10 meters above the ground and cutting down boughs that would otherwise rest on the van roof when full of heavy snow. I also had to organise an electrical supply to the far side of the parking area.
I could have done all this at any time, but of course it ends up being done when it's -4°C with a little snow around.
In a similar vein the porch roof over the front door was broken last winter by some very large chunks of icy snow plunging off the roof. Now, with the first real snow of this winter on the way I suddenly think "I must fix that roof"! Yesterday I bought the necessary plastic roofing, and today I took away the pictured broken plastic. Hopefully tomorrow the new roof will be in place.
Working outside is tricky at this time of year. I start with lots of clothes and then steadily take away bits and pieces as I get too warm.
As it got properly dark I came in and lit the logburner. Jan came home and we drank mulled wine while I watched the fire, and she played with the train set she has bought for the younger visitors who will hopefully be here in January and spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.