That time again

Family photo for their holiday cards. They couldn't join me till late in the day because they had other commitments, so we made this a little after dusk, and I had to use Lightroom's masking tool to lighten them up. I got a few that might be passable (another in Extras), though I'd have preferred more natural light.

It was also the day Portland celebrated the Transgender Day of Remembrance (another extra). Heartbreaking, but an occasion for transgender people and allies to gather, acknowledge each other, and hope for a better year to come.

After I posted this, I heard about the Colorado Springs mass murderer at a Queer club. It was the 600th mass shooting in the USA this year. Horrible. A friend on Twitter writes, "Imagine thinking China is a threat in a society where mass shootings occur regularly, thousands die without healthcare or housing each year, and corporations routinely influence elections. This is America." My sympathy and rage for all who have lost loved ones in Colorado and anywhere else because of gender expression and orientation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.