Chifley Cottage

Ben Chifley was an Australian PM in the 1940s. He was born in Bathurst about 250m from our place and started out as a train driver. He and his wife Elizabeth lived in this cottage for the whole of their married life except while he was away on parliamentary duties. They had no children and the home was left after their passing with all their personal effects. Liz and I went up to have a guided tour which was really interesting. Ben was born five years before my grandfather so I wonder if they ever met here in a small country town as it was in the 1800s. Elizabeth did home duties and the local preschool was named after her. 

Before our tourist adventure we went to some charity shops and we both found some great bargains. When we got home I found a glass dish in the shape of a dove which I have never seen before. They put someone else’s purchase in with mine. I’ll take it back tomorrow. 

Peter is cooking a bbq tonight and Liz did a salad. I’m having a night off. 

The two men on the verandah are painting the place. They gave us a wave. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.