8 Till 8

Sorry, another in the series taken yesterday, but created today :-)

I thought this would make a good Mono Monday street photo and intended to go back today for a retake. Honest. But it's raining and we have been a bit too busy today.

You may notice the Jack's advert on the left. We were a bit surprised to find some Jack's ready meals when we were shopping here a while back, thinking that the brand was not in line with the more up market image of Budgens. There was a Jack's in Castle Bromwich near where the FIL lived. As I remember it was a budget supermarket chain devised by Tesco to compete with the likes of Aldi and Lidl. I found a Guardian review which said it was 'like shopping 30 years ago'. I didn't know that all the Jack's stores were closed earlier this year, but that the Jack's brand was retained by Booker, who are now owned by Tesco. Apparently Budgens (and Londis which is what this store used to be) were owned by Bookers, so I guess by Tesco now. I wonder what the local reaction would be if the store was rebranded as a Tesco.

This morning I popped round to a friend's house to look at his modem/router. It's a DrayTek in case you were wondering. His broadband speeds are over 60 Mbps, more than twice ours. Interestingly though we looked at some football videos on his iPad and they were very pixelated, just like our streaming quality is at times, so speed is clearly not the whole story. I was also trying to sort out BTSport for him. I get it for free while he has to pay. I couldn't work out why.

Still on the subject of football we enjoyed the England match this afternoon. We meaning me and mrsfb who watched most of it, which is unusual.

Camera club this evening, Lightroom stuff which should be interesting even though I still don't use it. I usually learn something which works equally well in Photoshop Elements.

See what I mean. A busy day, no time to go anywhere taking photos.

One year ago:
Blue Tit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.