CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A mushroom on Minchinhampton Common

I went for a stroll in the sunshine up on the common to get some air and exercise. I ended up in conversation with a young couple playing with their newly acquired young dog who was certain that I'd throw his ball covered in slobber for him. He was correct. 

A few minutes earlier I'd been lying in the grass gettijng up close to this mushroom which looked so fresh. I'd seen a few small fungi in the grass as I walked including a few small puffballs, but this one took my fancy.

The cows which graze the common throughout the summer have had to leave and return to their winter abodes, in order to protect the grass. It is a protected SSSI managed by the National Trust as a classic traditionally managed limestone grassland. I'm sure if they cows had been there this would have been quickly trampled on. Perhaps the fungi time their appearances to the departure of the cows. To be honest that is a ludicrous suggestion. It is just that this time of year is perfect for fungi to develop and spread their spores.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.