Living my dream

By Mima

Start the day with a bonfire

It was an excellent way to begin the day.

Recent rain and winds had brought down hundreds of cabbage tree leaves, which are almost impossible to compost and which get tied up round the lawnmower and line trimmer if they’re left on the ground. So periodically I fill the fire pit and set light to it. I do love a bonfire.

The rest of the day has been nonstop: at least until 6.30pm when I came to a halt. Line trimming and mowing took up much the day. I also filled a dozen large pots with compost in the tunnel house and planted basil, coriander and dill into them.

Bean and I had a dry walk (unusual of late) during which we bumped into three lots of locals with whom I had long natters.

And fitted around all these activities I have been making my first hard cheese: a cheddar. Four litres of milk magically transmogrifies into a 500g cheese. And simply masses of whey.

The cheese is being pressed overnight and will start drying out and maturing from tomorrow morning, for at least six weeks. It is real slow food.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.