Sims Clock in darkening wintry light

I needed some stationery bits and pieces for my preparations for my weekend stall. There is one very goos traditional stationers and on leaving their premises I was only a few paces away when I noticed the brightening light shining across the rooftops of the town and onto Sims Clock.

This four-sided clock is a centrepiece of the old part of the town beside the Subscription Rooms, which are just a few yards away to the right. The town council paid to have the clock's 'works' and its stonework renovated relatively recently and they did a good job. I stood on the edge of the road and moved gingerly out of the way of cars to get this shot. 

It isn't a classic looking Cotswold town, more a robust working town which has changed with the times. The rather newer building on the left was taken over for a couple of years as the main office of Ecotricity, which then grew to become a major player in the sustainable energy production and supply market. Now it is still the major employer in the area and as it grew it needed to move onto to a different and bigger building, until the downturn and the impact of Covid moved people out of offices and into working from home. Now we wait to see how the energy supply business adapts and if Ecotricity will move on again. I hope they stay local.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.