Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Tiny Tuesday: Ornaments/Memorabilia

OK; I know it's seen better days.  But it does have quite happy memories.  It's an 'O' Gauge Hornby clockwork engine; not a replica of any specific engine but really just a toy.  I suspect it's a lot older than I am but I can remember setting out a circle of track on the dining room carpet, winding it up and watching it go.  I lost interest when, one Christmas, I got a 'OO' gauge electric train set which was much more exciting as it didn't need winding up and looked a lot more like the real thing.  I always planned to build a proper layout with scenery etc., but sadly, never got around to it so the electric one also ended up doing circles on the dining room carpet.  But while it was the carpet to everyone else, in my mind it was the East Coast Main Line and I was driving the Flying Scotsman......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.