NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Comfort Food for a Wet Wednesday

With so many torrential downpours today and more forecast for tomorrow, my pain has been off the scale. My neck and right shoulder have been particularly painful. Counting down the days until the Pain Clinic appointment.

I have been in bed and sitting trying to distract myself from the pain for most of the day, with the exception of making Macaroni Cheese for dinner tonight (today’s Blip and extra) and attempting to do some gentle stretching exercises for my neck and shoulder area. I have used the electric heat pad most of the day. I hope it’s fairly inexpensive to run. The Mac Cheese will do me three nights of dinners.

This afternoon, I booked a GP appointment (with great reluctance as I never feel there’s much more they can do for me) and then took receipt of a parcel of a monthly box of beauty goodies I won in a competition a good few months ago. My collection is growing!

The GP appointment is two weeks away and a telephone appointment - my practice is not doing face to face without a telephone consultation beforehand. I’m saying no more! I will have been assessed by the Pain Clinic before the GP. 

The competition win is saving me a small fortune in toiletries, hair care, skin care and makeup which is very welcome in these tough economic times. It cheered me up today especially given the high pain levels and the miserable weather.

I’ve been working my way through a considerable backlog of YouTube channel videos I follow this afternoon as a pain distraction - those and the heat pad have helped me feel a bit more comfortable. My mood remains very low and I am finding it more and more difficult to feel any hope.

Spoke to one of my best friends Rosie today via text, she has been struggling with her health issues (which include fibromyalgia) for several weeks too. We were comparing flare ups. Her Mum is trying to get her to go back to see her GP but she is reluctant. I understand her reluctance, I know exactly how she feels.

Duolingo German revision lesson is done for the day - pleased with 94% given the intense pain levels. I did a few extra lessons to keep my mind off the agony. I think I’m on Day 86 of my learning streak.

I hope everyone has had a wonderful Wednesday with less wet weather than we’ve had here! 

Thanks for all your comments, stars, hearts and follows :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.