NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Restful Thursday

Today, I have had a very quiet day, taking it easy. My pain was intense this morning but eased a little as the day progressed. 

The electric heat pad has been out but unfortunately the rain has been lashing down on and off most of the day. Rain is no friend of pain.

Talking of friends, Rosie and I made plans today for a coffee catch up in a couple of weeks time. I hope we are both well enough to meet. I will have to make sure to find a coffee shop with good disabled access as Rosie is an ambulatory wheelchair user.

These two books arrived today, two autobiographies. The one on the left of the photo is the second volume of her life story - I really enjoyed the first. The one on the right is the autobiography of Susannah of Susannah and Trinny fame. Looking forward to reading both. Really need to stop buying books on sale! I suppose there are worse things I could do.

I also got my Mum’s Christmas present online. We have all agreed to give each other small gifts this year. We haven’t done big Christmases for years and we are scaling back again this year.

I just hope they all stick to it. I will be! We’ve agreed there are other more important things we all need to do with our budgets, given the bleak economic times.

The extra is of my afternoon snack - my attempt at cutting out unhealthy snacks. Very tasty and you don’t feel like you’re being deprived of taste. I eat a lot of fruit and veg, my diet is not too bad. I have cut out chocolate and lost a little weight, which I’m pleased about. I try and keep sugar to a minimum for the sake of my fibromyalgia and joint hypermobility syndrome.

I had a nap for an hour and a half this afternoon as I felt incredibly fatigued. Had an early dinner of veggie cottage from the freezer coupled with plenty of fresh veg.

Duolingo German done for the day. I only scored 92% today, I need to try and find more time and energy for my revision.

Tonight, I’m going to watch Question Time (although I need to be careful of my blood pressure watching that!) and a documentary hosted by the Scottish actor Brian Cox called The American Dream. I watched it last week, it’s on Channel 5 at 9pm. I found it incredibly interesting.

I hope you have all had a wonderful Thursday. As a former English teacher and EIS union member, sending my warmest wishes and support to anyone who was on strike today. 

Very grateful for all all your comments, stars, hearts and follows. I’m especially grateful for all the support re this fibro flare up :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.