The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Pewsham (Wednesday 23rd November 2022)

Monday was a wet and gloomy day. I did not go out and I took no pictures. Highlight of the day was watching the final episode of The Walking Dead - a series I have watched since April 2011, when it was on Channel 5.

On Tuesday I drove to Chippenham to get some stuff for the garden. It was drier but still gloomy and by the time I got home I hadn't found anything to Blip and it was dark. The forecast for Wednesday from the Met Office was for heavy showers and high winds, so Woody Wednesday was deferred until Thursday by mutual agreement. In fact, the forecast was wrong and it would have been fine for gardening, but by the time that became clear it was too late. Tomorrow's forecast is, if anything, worse.

After lunch today I drove off towards Chippenham mainly to find a Blip. I planned to revisit the Wilts & Berks canal in Pewsham but found all my parking spots were blocked or unavailable. The best of the weather had been in the morning and it was gloomy and damp once again. Having finally found a car park some way away at 1530 hr it was twenty-five minutes before I reached the footpath that would have led to the canal and I got this shot at 1559 hr, when I began a dark walk back to the car, and homewards. A failed mission.

L.
Wednesday 23.11.2022 (1839 hr)

Blip #3772 (#3522 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2022 #207/265 + #088/100 Extras
Day #4625 (1112 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2913 (#2753 + 160 in archived blips)


Taken with Pentax KS-1 (Blue) and Pentax smc P-DA* 55mm F1.4 SDM prime lens

Sunset series
Pewsham series
Chippenham series
Landscape series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Dr Feelgood - She Does It Right (2006 Stereo Mix)(recorded 28 August 1974, Rockfield Studios, Monmouth)
R.I.P. Wilko Johnson (12 July 1947, Canvey Island - 21 November 2022, Southend-on-Sea)
I remember seeing Dr Feelgood for the first time on the Naughty Rhythms Tour in Chelmsford at Chancellor Hall on 23 February 1975, with Chilli Willi and the Red Hot Peppers and Kokomo also on the bill, and was blown away by Wilko Johnson's machine gun guitar and Lee Brillaux's menacing vocals. It has been said that they looked like villains from The Sweeney. When the album Down By The Jetty came out the producer Vic Maile had recorded the band in stereo but had mixed everything to the centre, so in effect had made it mono.
In 2006 a deluxe reissue included a stereo remix, from which I have chosen Wilko's composition She Does It Right, also their second single (after Roxette).
It was announced today that Wilko Johnson had died on Monday from a form of cancer that he had contracted in 2012, at which time he had only been given one year to live. A Blip today was essential to mark his final passing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.