Photogen

By Photogen

Woodpecker at Fatball

When I'm around the house I keep my camcorder set up in my spare room with 10x optical zoom lens trained on the bird feeders. If I spot an interesting scenario from another room I can make a beeline for the camcorder, and with luck, take a few shots fairly quickly. This happened today, and what you see here is the underside of a woodpecker. I took a couple of shots before it spotted movement, I think, and vamoosed! Perhaps this is a young one because its underbelly looks amazingly red, and although I have done an internet search, I've not seen a picture of such extensive colouring. Maybe someone can throw some light on this.

I also discovered that woodpeckers have evolved a number of adaptations to protect their heads from constant rapid and repeated impacts with wood. They have small brains well-attached to the skull, and the millisecond before contact thickened membranes close, protecting the eyes from flying debris. Their nostrils are also protected with special feathers. Isn't that amazing! Maybe another day I'll be able to capture its beautiful head as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.