Border Tails

By Swannie

Get off my bureau!

When I was growing up, everybody seemed to have a bureau. Whether it was a big roll top one with a space for your knees, like Uncle John’s or a small one with a single drawer and a cupboard below like my parents’, it didn’t matter, I always wanted to have one of my own when I was a grown up. Well this morning, it arrived. I bought it at the secondhand furniture store in Hawick after seeing their post on Facebook.

It’s not new, but it’s in great condition. I know it’s not hand carved or antique, but it’s a solid heavy piece and I love it! Maly and JJ were quick to check it out when it first arrived, but I chased the pair pair of them when they started fighting on the top of it.

As you can see from my extra, I have moved it into its permanent corner now, with a bit of help from Ben, from next door, and my Doddie Ducks have pride of place on the top. I am chuffed to bits with it, I do love quirky furniture. And I now think I must be turning into an adult!




Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.