Your Life And Wife .....

..... will never be the same after a haircut from me.

Sadly I didn't have time to check this promise out.

We were in Oxford for the Pre-Raphaelites:Drawings And Watercolours Exhibition at the Ashmolean Museum. We had only found out about this when I picked up a leaflet at the Leekes department store we called in to last week. It finishes this weekend. We are both big Pre-Raphaelites fans.

I was going to drive as usual to Oxford to the Park and Ride, but I had this impulse to try the bus from Witney. We can get an occasional bus direct from Northleach to Oxford but there aren't very many and last time we did it we were stressed about missing the last bus back, or not getting a seat on it as it was just a single decker coach then. There are a lot more buses between Oxford and Witney though so we went for it. We parked in the free long stay car park in Witney and very quickly got a bus. We had the added bonus of getting the upstairs front seats. Also we didn't realise the route was via the Swinford toll bridge just after Eynsham. 12p for buses I think, but I didn't see our driver pay. I was kicking myself for not getting a photo of the bridge.

Coming back we didn't get the front seat, and the bus was a lot busier. And I nearly slipped on the stairs getting off. With all the rain the steps were really slippery. Overall though a successful experiment. It probably took a bit longer than driving via the Park and Ride, but we used a lot less fuel and didn't have to pay for parking or the bus. I'm not sure if our bus passes are accepted on the Park and Ride.

Camera club was interesting last night, quite a few superb landscape images. However I got an email this morning saying one of the members there had just reported a positive Covid test. I hope I don't get it now after avoiding it for so long.

One year ago:
Boots #2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.