Light in the middle of the tunnel

I passed my probation in my three-month-old job today. Until about two weeks ago I was still battling with lots of impenetrable systems but suddenly a lot has fallen into place. I still have loads to learn but it's all feeling more coherent - and made much more manageable by an absolutely lovely, supportive bunch of colleagues.

Yesterday I spent a full day on reception for the first time (everyone works on reception from time to time but being a back-up receptionist is more my role than most people's) and I saw/met some of the people coming in for help with homelessness. One was so surprised and grateful to be treated kindly that he was tearing up as he left the building. I joined in, discreetly I thought. As I walked in this morning a full-time receptionist told me what had happened afterwards and how he would be supported today. Because they'd spotted how I was feeling yesterday and thought I'd like to know. That's a supportive colleague.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.