Arachne

By Arachne

“The winds of change have arrived.” Viktor Orbán

I find the news harder and harder to listen to and often I don't but yesterday morning before I got up I was listening to BBC Radio 4's Today Programme. There was a piece on the Netherlands general election where Geert Wilders' far right 'Party for Freedom' (PVV) , which is proposing to ban mosques, is now the largest parliamentary party.

That called for some serious reporting but before the presenter, Nick Robinson, introduced Anna Holligan, the BBC's Netherlands News correspondent, he pronounced Geert Wilders's first name as 'Geert' (English hard G) then said, "'Heert', is apparently the posh Dutch way to pronounce it."

What? Who is he mocking? 'Posh' Dutch people or 'posh' English speakers who try to pronounce foreign words correctly?

Anna Holligan told us all the correct way to pronounce the Dutch 'G' but Nick Robinson interrupted her, laughing, "It sounds like catarrh."

I know that the British (mostly the English, for obvious reasons, but not entirely) take arrogant pride in not learning other languages but I was outraged. I emailed the Today Programme:
You think it's acceptable, even funny, to mock another language? And in the context of an election win for a fascist?
Staggering. Frightening.


Hungary, Italy, AfD in Germany, Marine Le Pen in France, Dublin last night...

I realise that my being stuck on rant mode is tiresome but today, encouraged by a friend, I made an official complaint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.