Fall in the fog

I was surprised how foggy it was down Xwaaqw'um this morning. No fog at our place. It was so peaceful and quiet, and I loved being on the trail and at the beach again. This is the road down to the trail. It was nearly impossible to see the boats in the bay when I walked on the trail, but when I got to the beach, it had started to lighten up a bit. Still couldn't see any of Vancouver Island but some of the boats were more visible.
Just as I was about to get into the car to head home, a woman stopped her car beside me and asked if I knew where the tap was. Not easy to find, under a metal plate in the ground, and I only knew where it was because we ran into one of our neighbours filling water jugs there once. The woman had her little girl with her, and when we were fairly close to the plate, I told the girl that I bet she'd be able to spot it. I gave her a couple of clues and she was pleased as Punch when she did!  There's a hose attached to the tap so it's fairly easy to use and apparently the water is really good.
On my way home, I stopped to talk with neighbour Bill who was out for a short walk on our road. He's been feeling quite good after having a kidney removed, but his surgeon called this morning with news that the cancer is more advanced than initially thought and he has to start chemo. What a kick in the balls! He's gone through so much already. Much on his mind and decisions to be made. I'm glad that we're here for him. His sister goes back to Toronto on Wednesday.   :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.