Dolcezza Della Vita

By Dolcezza

Notes to my younger self...

So...I will be 31 tomorrow! Argghh - why are the numbers getting so high? Can't they go backwards?!! ;) A little upset that I can't be at home w/ friends and family but I will be going home next week - so I can wait a little bit.

I was just thinking back to 21...ten years ago - wow! Seriously, where does time go? I was thinking what I would tell my younger self...what advice I would give...here are 11 things that came to mind.

Advice to my younger self...

1) You can't fix people or their problems - it's not your job. People change if and only when they want to. Just follow your instincts - plain and simple.

2) Love and invest in yourself - it will pay off later! I used to be so self critical...over the years, I've learn to let all that go. I am who I am, if someone doesn't like it, they can just step out of my life.

3) Don't be afraid to end friendships...sometimes friends can be quite toxic in your life - some people just love to play games...don't take it personal. Surround yourself with good people and recognize when its time to let them go.

4) Learn to forgive...I had a real problem with forgiving in my younger years. Learned to let go and forgive-may not forget, but that comes with time. Scars may always be there, but time does truly heal.

5) Don't take life so seriously - there is plenty of time to grow up. Quit planning so much for the future - all we have is "today". Relax and enjoy the moments.

7) Cherish the quiet moments while they last...I mean spend time by yourself and learn to really enjoy it, do something fun, try something new.

8) Prioritize - don't accept everything that gets handed to you...don't be afraid to say no every once in a while. Don't let others own your time.

9) Connect more with people...used to be too busy to actually get to know someone, I mean really get to know them...I've learned that life's all about connections...that's what we are here for.

10) Don't put people up on a pedestal-I used to have high expectations of the people in my life...learned to let that go and just accept ppl as they are - that means the good and the occasional bad...we all have our moments.

11) Never say never...I used to be firm and stubborn in my beliefs...over the years, I've learned that life is all about change...and that you just have to go with it as it comes. You never know what turns your life may take...learn to appreciate the element of surprise...which I do now!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A year ago...flying high...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.