The makings of a fruit cake

For the second year running I've bought the ingredients for a fruit cake from the zero waste shop in Dunblane. In the jar is a mix of fruit including apricots, figs, cranberries, prunes, dates and the usual vine fruits you'd find in a cake like this. There's also the juice and zest of an orange and a lemon. And brandy of course. In the brown paper bags are the dry ingredients and four eggs. You get a useful kilner jar into the bargain.

I won't bake the cake yet but keep the fruit soaking for a bit longer. It won't be a traditional Christmas cake as no-one here likes marzipan or royal icing. It will be a very tasty fruit cake though and will keep us going during the festive season.

I collected these goodies this afternoon from my friend R. who volunteers in the shop. We walked the dogs round Kings Park and got completely soaked. R gave me a lift home. I'd taken my backpack to carry all the cake stuff but the dry ingredients would not have remained that way. Despite my waterproofs I was drenched. Glad to be home and about to start the weekend.

Hope you all have a good one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.