A view from my childhood….

We have had a busy couple of days…first visiting my husbands brother near Bath where we stayed overnight.  Yesterday driving down the M4 was horrid, lots of rain and very dark at times. Nice to catch up with family again and today we met up with my brother, his wife and children for lunch. It was nice to meet my nephew and niece without their children etc so we had a civilised lunch with only 6 people!

This is a view from Cucklington churchyard where my parents are buried ( which I visited today) and it is more or less the same view from our house when I was a child where I lived until I was 18. It was Nice and sunny in contrast to yesterday. This is in Somerset and looking from one village on a hill to another, Stoke Trister, nearby. Just off the A303 near Wincanton. My brother and his son still run the dairy farm there.

We had a nice lunch at the Hillbrush restaurant at Mere, also just off A303. This is attached to a visitor centre alongside the Hillbrush Factory which is celebrating 100 years of making brushes. There is lots of interesting info about making brushes and lots of different kinds of brushes are on sale. I always like visiting it.
A good journey home thankfully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.