The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Leaving

The Other Practice is moving out of a shared 1974 NHS building. They are moving into town (the old Woolworths building) and merging with another practice, the one where I'm registered. The new combined practice is called the Five Valleys Medical Practice, and will open on 1st December.

Meanwhile, the practice where I work will gain more space. Yippee! Windows would be a good start.

I went to work, but was feeling sick. Before I'd even got up and was still lying in bed, Indie had come to lie with me, but startled me awake by flipping around and making the dreaded washing-machine noise. Uh-oh, I thought, but I was still sleepy so I ignored it till I came to, and discovered her breakfast, deposited in its entirety, on the duvet AND the sheet. Really, I don't know why she bothered to eat it at all.

Threw the sheets in the (real) washing machine and went to work. Had office to myself. Got some things done, then went off 'up town' to meet a client. She did not show. Discovered a possible plan for Christmas: helping to cook a community meal, then helping to eat it, and play games. Steve is not so sure about this. It's different, I grant you.

Back to office for an hour. Furniture removal much in evidence, as mentioned earlier. Walked home, via the market. Bought some gf mince pies from Sunshine Bakery. Hung out washing, sorted various minor mudlles. Steve came home. Ate some soup.

Now here's the thing: we've had a stomach bug for a few days and I really don't feel like eating at all, still. I couldn't even finish the carrot batons-and-tahini I'd prepped this morning. It's a shame, because I like eating, usually.

Started to re-make the bed. Steve came along and said that the faithful duvet was thin, and past its best. I agreed, and replied that it IS twenty years old. Offered to look for a spare one. Found it, but it's a double and our covers are for king-size. Put on cover anyway, made bed (with S's help) put away all the suitcases I had moved while looking for the duvet. Fetched the washed bed linen from the washing line in near-darkness, threw it in dryer because they had not dried: it's November.

Back up the stairs to the bedroom, where I removed some outer layers, and collapsed on the bed as if in a yoga pose. Eventually righted myself, got under the 'new' duvet, and promptly fell asleep. Couldn't even read a line or two from a book ...

Skipped dinner. Eventually, roused and fetched sheets from the dryer. Still not dry. I've draped them around the house, fetchingly.

Maybe tomorrow I'll be able to eat without feeling so sick. I think we've had Norovirus, we've ticked quite a few of the boxes, and it's doing the rounds, apparently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.