It’s beginning to look a lot like…….

…….Christmas.
I have booked a Festive meal at Bistrot Pierre, (where I took the photo), which is a 15 minute walk away, being situated at our local shopping area.
It’s for myself and a neighbour, plus a former neighbour and a mutual friend. We usually meet once every couple of months for a meal and get together.
The last time was in October and we had such a good, reasonably priced meal at this venue, it was agreed we would meet there again before Christmas.
We saw each other through the stages of lockdowns when you could meet in a garden, or an outside venue for a meal.
This afternoon was given over to sorting out the top cupboards in the wardrobe.
Always interesting what you find!
I was getting my Nativity crib and figures down ready for assembling for Advent.
It made me wonder if people this year will actually have loads of lights attached to their houses, or if they they will need loads of batteries.
I then found three sets of lights which run on batteries and a timer, one lot which I did wrap around a small box shrub in the front garden last year. They came on at 5.00pm and went off at 10.30pm.
I then got distracted as I found three Wedding photo albums.
Ours, (1973), our Matthew’s, (2001), and our other son Alan’s (2008).
So much history between them all. Especially Matt’s and Alan’s.
I guess you really won’t be interested in all the other stuff I sorted through. I ended up with a pile which needed recycling!
Our faithful artificial Christmas tree was taken to the Upcycle in our local town Sutton Coldfield, earlier this year as we can no longer clamber under the roof space that was left after the loft was converted into a large bedroom and small shower-room years ago in 1991.
Then we had to bring it in the box down two flights of stairs.
Easier sliding it downstairs than trying to get it back up again now!
In the meantime my nephew, his partner and 8month old baby girl, are in the air en route to the UK from Sydney right now. There is a family reunion at my sister’s in Knaresborough on December 11th. His brother and family are coming up from London too.
Soon be time for Strictly. So I’ll stop wittering on.
Christmas can be hard for lots of people with so many memories, so I hope that those of you out there who will be missing someone, will simply remember and smile…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.