For a' that

I was looking through some of my 'stuff' and found this little jigsaw that mum brought back from Scotland for me. I don't remember the year of her last visit home, maybe early or mid '70s.  It's about 4"x6". The poem was written by Rabbie Burns in 1795, and all these years later, '...Man to Man, the world o'er, Shall brothers be for a' that!' is still just a dream. 
A link to the poem and some information about it here.
Two sentences in the link that resonate with me: 
'The poem endorses equality in a nation, and rails against social injustices; it’s as relevant now as in Burns’s time.' 
'Burns was not of a high enough social class to be able to vote, and so he used his writing desk as a ballot box instead. A wave of Republicanism was running through Europe in the late 1700s – Burns had read about the French Revolution that proved that ‘ordinary’ people could govern their own country.'
Ironic that the Scottish Parliament does not have the power to legislate for another referendum for Scottish independence.
I also found a tiny book of Burns' poems that I might blip soon.

Added an extra of the fig tree to compare with yesterday's extra. What a difference a wind overnight makes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.