Another Day Begins

I opened the curtains and wondered what a black and white carrier bag was doing in the corner of the field, right underneath the window.  Furthermore I noticed Harry staring at said bag.  Refocusing it was a guillemot, in turn staring at Harry.  It was probably the first guillemot Harry had ever seen (he noted the vicious bill).  Ditto it was the first fluffy ginger cat the guillemot had seen.  It was pointed out to me that I missed a Blip opportunity, but I was more concerned about the bird’s health, especially with the continuing (not ongoing) avian flu.  Getting dressed the quickest I have ever (since the time the polis visited 27 King’s Crescent Aberdeen in February of 1974) I grabbed a pair of gloves.  The bird was quite perky but just couldn’t get traction on the grass.  I eventually caught it and took it down to the cliff top (about 50 feet) and threw it well away from the rocks.  It flew really well; into a bonny sunrise; you may see it passing Gairloch this evening.
 
I then took my A and Uncle to say cheerio to my Mum in the Care Home.  It was a very emotional and tearful adieu.
 
Later, at the airport, A and U’s flight to Aberdeen was shunted back by 4.5 hours. 
 
Back at HQ a letter has arrived which is postmarked ‘Carluke’.  It is a vet’s bill.  There will be questions asked in the Pet Shop.  Also in Clark’s the Bakers.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.