Daily Wild

By emyjane

Blossom lake

Best viewed *larger*

We went to the National Trust property of Knightshayes today - the last time we went there was in October last year - & the weather was no better then either! Torrential rain, gale force winds, great big gusts - part of the gardens were closed due to the severe weather warning - I met a lady from Germany who was distraught that the infamous gardens were shut because of the storm, it was one of their highlights of their holiday, she complained she had come so far for them & was sad she couldn't get back to the UK until next year. I felt her pain. My camera did too. I hate getting my camera wet!

But this Magnolia blossom was worth the wet, almost flooded camera - even though the temperature was freezing & the rain & the wind a real pain, I quite enjoyed the drama - I do actually love the thrill of strong winds & lashing rain when I'm out & about... I'm strange like that.

And Larry?

Calm in the storm

Came back home to a gruesome discovery, two headless male blackbirds in the garden - the work of a cat I guess, as a hawk would take all of it & have never seen stoats here nor weasels. Luckily it was not any of my blackbirds I know & love, they've been saved again, but who these poor souls were, I have no idea... it's extremely sad, will bury them tomorrow, as came home late but still in the raging storm! Exeter tomorrow :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.