Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

"Blue is the light that got lost..."

  "Blue is the color of longing for the distances you never arrive in..."

I was reading The Field Guide to Getting Lost by Rebecca Solnit (for the second time) today which is where I found these words.   She mentions  .some things why we see the blue but we never arrive at that blue area as it changes to its actual color.   Something to wrap your brain around and ponder. 

Blue sky, blue water, blue mountains in the distance.

We can never be in this blue.  As soon as we get to the point in the distance the blue is beyond us again.  

Like this blue moon.  Today it is shining in the daytime.  Blue toned which is probably the light dispersing from the air around it. (or some other reason beyond my knowledge).  if we went to the moon or even up in the sky..it would not be blue.  

This blue light never touches us but it gives us the beauty of the world.

The blue stretches are far as we can imagine..and then it is lost in the dark.

This book is one that makes me think about things.  

And in keeping Tiny Tuesday in mind, I looked up macro photography to get a better idea of what macro means.  The easiest definition is photographing small items so close that they are bigger than they are in life.   

So reverse macro is photographing something huge (like the moon!) and making it appear smaller than it is.   So maybe this is a tiny tuesday entry!!

I have some ideas for the prompts for December's tiny Tuesday and will post these later in the week...in case I change my mind!  

Road trip tomorrow to the Sunshine State to see my uncle and some close friends...and maybe a few blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.